Participatory Ecological Land Use Management (PELUM) Association | PELUM-Kenya
home,page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-15260,ajax_leftright,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode-theme-ver-9.1.3,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-,vc_responsive

Participatory Ecological Land Use Management (PELUM) Association

Participatory Ecological Land Use Management (PELUM) Association is a network of Civil Society Organizations / NGOs working with Small-scale farmers in East, central and Southern Africa. The Association membership has grown from 25 pioneer members (in 1995) to over 277 members in 2017.  PELUM Kenya is the Kenyan country chapter of the PELUM Association and has a membership of 55 member organizations.



Read More

Our Programmes

Capacity Enhancement and Networking

To Enhance the capacity of PELUM Kenya Member Organization and Staff in Sustainable Agriculture and areas of need in Capacity building, promote useful collaboration and good practices with like-minded network.

Read More

Advocacy and Communications

Involvement in campaign, advocacy and lobbying so as to grasp the collective opportunities available in the network through the power of synergy to stand up against policies and practices that oppress the small scale farmers.

Read More

Agro-enterprise Development

PELUM-Kenya is aimed at ensuring effective Information sharing and knowledge management through an efficient hub at the PELUM Association Kenya Country Secretariat (Office).

Read More

Monitoring, Evaltuation, Reporting and Learning

This programme is responsible for ensuring that targets are met and results are achieved as per the programme planning strategy.

Carries out the Organizational and programme Monitoring and Evaluation (M&E)

Read More


Membership in various counties in Kenya, click on the map to see members operating in the regions.

Upper Eastern and Northern Kenya Zone

  1. Community Initiatives for Rural Development (CIFORD)
  2. Anglican Development Services Mt. Kenya East (ADS MKE)
  3. Rural Initiatives Development Program (RIDEP)
  4. Community Environmental Forest Action (CEFA)
  5. Nainyoiye Community Development Organization (NCDO)
  6. Pastoralists Community Initiatives and Development Assistance (PACIDA)
  7. Food for the Hungry Kenya (FH Kenya)

Nairobi/Central Zone

  1. Sustainable Agriculture Community Development Programme (SACDEP)
  2. Grow Bio-Intensive Agriculture Centre of Kenya (GBIACK)
  3. Organic Agriculture Centre of Kenya (OACK)
  4. Youth Acton for Rural Development (YARD)
  5. Resources Oriented Development Initiatives (RODI) Kenya
  6. Kenya Institute of Organic Farming (KIOF)
  7. Institute of Culture and Ecology (ICE)
  8. Community Sustainable Development and Environmental Protection Program (COSDEP)
  9. Real Impact for Sustainable Growth Organization  (REAL IMPACT)
  10. Forest Action Network (FAN)
  11. Arid Lands Information Network (ALIN)
  12. Anglican Development Services ADS Kenya;
  13. Practical Action East Africa
  14. Kenya Organic Agriculture Network (KOAN)
  15. Permaculture Research Institute (PRI)
  16. Self Help Africa (SHA)
  17. CARITAS Nairobi

Nyanza Zone

  1. Community Mobilization Against Desertification (C-MAD)
  2. Community Rehabilitation and Environment Protection Program (CREPP)
  3. Nyanza Sustainable Agriculture and Rural Development Programme (NARSADEP)
  4. Agricultural Community Empowerment Program (ACEP)

Western Zone

  1. Anglican Development Services (ADS) Western
  2. Busia Environmental and Resource Management (BERMA)
  3. Bio- Gardening Innovations (BIOGI)
  4. Kima Integrated Community Initiative Program (KICIP)
  5. VI Agroforestry
  6. Manor House Agricultural Centre (MHAC)
  7. Sustainable Mobilization of Agricultural Resource Technologies (SMART)
  8. Garden of Eden
  9. Trans- Community Organization (TRANSCOM)

Central Rift Valley Zone

  1. Agricultural and Rural Development Program (ARDP)
  2. Baraka Agricultural Centre (BAC)
  3. Network for Eco farming in Africa (NECOFA)
  4. Maendeleo Endelevu Action Program (MEAP)
  5. Seed Savers Network
  6. Tenwek Hospital Community Health & Development

Lower Eastern & Coastal Zone

  1. Benevolent Institute of Development Initiatives (BIDII)
  2. Inades Formation Kenya (IFK)
  3. Neighbours Initiative Alliance (NIA)
  4. Kitui Development Centre (KDC)
  5. Anglican Development Services Eastern (ADSE)
  6. Utooni Development Organization (UDO)
  7. Taita Taveta Wildlife Foundation (TTWF)
  8. Community Sustainable Agriculture and Healthy Environmental Program (CSHEP)
  9. Emayian Integrated Development Organization (EIDO)
  10. Katoloni CBO
  11. Christian Impact Mission

Countries of East, Central and Southern Africa


Association membership


Member organizations in Kenyan country chapter


Out of 47 counties in Kenya

    Empowered and prosperous communities deriving their livelihoods from sustainable land use.
    Read More